The Janice F. Turner Most Persistent Award is named in honor of Janice Turner, former Assistant Dean in the College of Arts and Sciences at Cornell University; former Interim Director of the then State Programs Office; health careers and pre-med academic advisor; advisor of the Black Bio-Medical and Technical Association; member of the National Association of Medical Minority Educators, Inc.; Student National Medical Association; and Northeast Association of Advisors for the Health Professions.

This award is given yearly to students who exemplify academic excellence, steadfastness, flexibility, and commitment to community service.  These students have also shown perseverance in the face of adversity in achieving their academic successes.

Dean Turner has had a continuously supportive relationship with the students in the Arthur O. Eve Higher Education Opportunity Program (HEOP) as she worked to ensure their academic success at Cornell and beyond. 

This award was established and first given 2011 to mark Dean Turner’s retirement.


Class of 2015 Recipients:
Jasmine Cotrich – College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
Sheila Gordon – College of Agriculture and Life Sciences

Previous Recipients:

Class of 2014

Lynda Miranda – College of Arts and Sciences

Class of 2013
Lana Rose Miller – School of Hotel Administration
Catherine Pimentel – College of Arts and Sciences

Class of 2012
Natalie Ebony Cook – College of Human Ecology

Class of 2011
Gardith Edouard – College of Arts and Sciences